

ICTP-NLAGA School in Dynamical Systems and Ergodic Theory

4 -14 June 2014

Cheikh Anta Diop University, Dakar and African Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Mbour Sénégal







University Cheikh Anta Diop

NLAGA Project

SIMONS FOUNDATION

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in collaboration with the Research Team in Nonlinear Analysis, Geometry and Applications (NLAGA) in Dakar, Sénégal is organizing a "School in Dynamical Systems and Ergodic Theory", to be held from 4 to 14 June, 2014 in Mbour, Sénégal.

The fields of Dynamical Systems and Ergodic Theory constitute very active areas of research with connections to many other areas of mathematics, such as topology, differential geometry, control theory, functional analysis and probability theory. They also have strong connections to several areas of mathematical physics and other disciplines such as biology and engineering.

This school will be an introduction to some current topics in the modern theory of Dynamical Systems and Ergodic Theory, and is aimed primarily at students at the Master's level. Specific background in Dynamics or Ergodic Theory is preferred but not required, whereas a very strong general mathematical background and maturity is essential. The places at the school are very limited and the selection will be competitive.

Up to date information about the program of the School can be found at the activity website: http://agenda.ictp.it/smr.php?2622

PARTICIPATION

Students from all countries that are members of the United Nations, UNESCO or IAEA may attend the Activity. As it will be conducted in English, participants should have an adequate working knowledge of that language.









Ministère de l'Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche

DIRECTORS

Idris Assani (University of North Carolina, USA) Stefano Luzzatto (ICTP, Italy) Marcelo Viana (IMPA, Brazil)

LOCAL ORGANIZERS

Moussa Baldé (Cheikh Anta Diop, Sénégal) Mouhamed Moustapha Fall (AIMS, Sénégal) Diaraf Seck (Cheikh Anta Diop, Sénégal)

LECTURERS

José F. Alves (University of Porto, Portugal) Idris Assani (tbc)* (University of North Carolina, USA) Christian Bonatti (Université de Bourgogne, France) Zoltán Buczolich (Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest) Stefano Luzzatto (ICTP, Italy) Marcelo Viana (IMPA, Brazil)

Limited funds are available for participants, to be selected by the organizers. Such financial support is available only for those who attend the entire activity. There is no registration fee.

HOW TO APPLY FOR PARTICIPATION

The application form can be accessed at the activity website: <u>http://agenda.ictp.it/smr.php?2622</u>

Once in the website, comprehensive instructions will guide you step-by-step, on how to fill out and submit the application form.

Activity Secretariat:

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) (SMR 2622), Strada Costiera 11, I-34151 Trieste, Italy Telefax: +39-040-2240-7455 - E-mail: <u>smr2622@ictp.it</u>

Trieste, December 2013

*(to be confirmed)

DEADLINE FOR REQUESTING PARTICIPATION:

31 March 2014